Surviving Law @ QUT 2009

The first year experience of QUT law students

The Sinking Boat, Logbooks, and other “Law-related” oddities

Hi all! Hope you’re all still okay out there in the depths of cyberspace…

A while ago, I was on facebook (the only place anything of much excitement happens in my life, lol), talking to a friend. She was bemoaning how much she had been procrastinating from her uni work, and I attempted to comfort her with the words, “Oh, don’t worry too much, we’re all in the same boat”. To which she very wisely responded “Yes, but the boat is sinking!”. And she’s right. I would add some really inspiring blurb about how we all need to do our best, etc, but considering that I’ve done no work myself lately, I’m not going to bother.

*you all give a great sigh of relief here*

I was wondering if law has been completely overtaking other people’s lives (and minds), or if I’m on my own in that regard? For example: a couple of days ago I was out getting some driving practice with my dad, and we had a disagreement about how we were supposed to fill in the logbook. A completely normal, minor disagreement. Until I started mentally using the rules of statuatory interpretation to assess the purpose of the logbook so that I could put the questionable aspect into context. And then it wasn’t quite so normal anymore. It’s awful – seriously, normal human beings don’t watch Funniest Home Videos trying to decide whether or not a trespass action could be brought out of the facts!

Those of you who have facebook and haven’t heard of this yet, I recommend that you have a look at the group “You know you’re in Law School if…”. It would be funny if it wasn’t so true.

Oh, and what’s the deal with those people from charities asking you if you’re over 21? Twice recently I’ve had people from social and environmental organisations asking me if I’m over 21, and when I say “No”, they *then* ask me if I’m over 18. Next time that happens, I swear I’m going to spout off whatever piece of legislation it was that reduced the age of legality down to 18, and ask them why I need to be over 21 to make a difference for their organisation? Darn, first I have to find that legislation … grr.

Well, it’s 10pm, and I’ve written a grand two sentences for my assignment. Hope you’re all well 😀

Goodnight! xx

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | General

No comments yet.

Leave a comment